Sindhudurg district was created on 1st May 1981 by separation from Ratnagari district. The District Police Headquarters and SP office was established on 19th July 1982 at Village Pavashi, Tal-Kudal. In the month of December 1982 the district Police Headquaters was shifted to Sawantwadi. SP office was shifted to the district capital place-Oros (Sindhudurgnagari) from Kudal on 1st November 1994 and the district Police Headquaters was shifted to Sindhudurgnagri, Tal-Kudal on 21st May 2001 from Sawantwadi.

Superintendent of Police:- The Police unit is headed by the superintendent of police.

Additional Superintendent of Police:- Additional Superintendent of Police is there to aid and assist the superintendent of police.

Sawantwadi Sub Division- Dodamarg, Banda, Sawantwadi, Vengurla, Nivati, Kudal, Sindhudurgnagari Police Stations

Kankavali Sub Division- Vijaydurg, Devgad, Vaibhavwadi, Kankavali,Achara, Malvan Police Stations.
Out of these 13 Police Stations Vengurla, Nivati, Vijaydurg, Devgad, Achara, Malvan are the 6 coastal Police Stations.

Police Manpower of the District:- At present Sindhudurg Police force consists of 76 Police Officers and 1196 Police personnel.